And So it Begins

DSC_0838

It’s dinnertime on day one, and I believe I made the perfect choice for the first meal of the blog. On page 97 of Giada’s Feel Good Food, you’ll find delicious stuffed bell peppers, Italian style and complete with tofu, eggplant, olives, and capers. Yes, indeed, it is the perfect dish for anyone’s vegetarian diet.

I started my afternoon grocery shopping for Giada ingredients that I don’t typically keep in my own home. The list was surprisingly short, so I guess we have similar tastes! That’s a good thing for my wallet. While shopping at Wegman’s, I noticed that the capers were about $4 cheaper in the Italian section than they were in the cans and jars section. So, be sure to look over all the ethnic foods in your local grocer to assure you’re getting the best prices! I also purchased the Wegman’s brand basil sauce for this recipe (I trust anything with a Wegman’s label). I searched high and low for Japanese eggplant, but couldn’t find any; fortunately traditional eggplant made a good substitute.

When I got home, it was time to get cooking! I had to separate the pepper stuffing into two separate pots because I have a couple of picky eaters here who aren’t smart enough to enjoy the decadence of an olive. I did roast the eggplant with olive oil, though, which is not the norm for me. I’ll definitely have to get used to Giada’s different cooking style. I paired the peppers with a mix brown rice and ginger (which I had made for dinner last night) and white rice (from a Chinese restaurant…also not the norm for me). Shh…don’t tell Giada! I visited the herb garden in my backyard and picked out some thyme, oregano, and basil to mill into the rice for added flavor. Talk about semi-homemade!

If first impressions are telling, I already know from this first dish that I’m going to have a blast on my way to a healthier self! I can’t wait to see what the next 90 days have in store for me!

 

Leave a Reply

