Giada’s Whole Wheat Linguine with Shrimp, Asparagus, and Cherry Tomatoes

Good evening to all of my lovely followers! It was another Giada dinner night, with pasta from page 219 of Giada’s Feel Good Food. I know I keep saying that her recipes are easy to make, but this one really takes the cake! It only took me thirty minutes from prep to table! I’ve said this before, but there are some picky, picky eaters in this house. Tonight, my vegetarian daughter wouldn’t eat the shrimp, so I wasn’t able to mix it into the pasta. That didn’t stop me from topping it onto my own dish, though.

 photo1

There was nothing on the side tonight, but you really don’t need a side dish if you plan on filling up on pasta. Some might like a baguette to mop up the sauce, but since we’re gluten free, we opted out. This was another dish that incorporated basil and mint; I’m realizing that if I keep cooking like this, I’m going to have to invest in another mint and basil plant! I grow my own herbs on my porch, and they do so beautifully in the summertime. Even if you have a small town-home (like myself), you can pot your herbs and grow them just about anywhere outside. I know that mine always grow bigger and greener than the grocer’s. Because I grow my own herbs, I keep an herb mill around the house. It’s a super handy tool for chopping and grinding up the herbs very quickly. It should be a staple in every fresh chef’s kitchen.

DSC_0858

I am a huge fan of Wegman’s, have been ever since my family lived in Buffalo, New York. If you have one nearby, you should hop in there and check out their gluten free section. They have an entire line of Wegman’s brand gluten free products that are just as good as anything else I’ve tried…and they’ll save you a buck on your grocery bill! If you don’t have a Wegman’s, you should try out Trader Joe’s brand items. They have a handy little “G” symbol on the front of all of their gluten-sensitive products for an easy shopping experience. Tonight in the pasta, we used Wegman’s corn spaghetti pasta. Corn holds up well, but be sure to measure it out carefully because it doesn’t make for very good leftovers.

DSC_0861

In the recipe, Giada advises that you mash the tomatoes with a fork after they’re tender. I myself use a potato masher or pastry blender for this step, and any time that I have to mash veggies. Careful while you’re mashing, those tomatoes are hot, and the juices will splatter around!

It’s been three days now, and it’s amazing to me how much better I feel already. Making sure I am staying hydrated, washing my face in the morning, and doing my yoga is really starting to pay off. Imagine how good I’ll feel in three weeks! Stick around until then, and you’ll get to find out!

3 comments

Leave a Reply

