Refreshing Granita for a Hot Summer Day

It’s Giada time again! Today, I decided to go for desert while flipping through Feel Good Food for the recipe that I would include in my diet for the dayShe has a light take on a granita on page 230, which incorporates both cantaloupe and mint; what better ingredients for a summery ice? I went about the recipe a little differently than Giada advised by shocking the simple sugar in an an ice bath instead of letting it cool on the counter. It’s as simple as placing the saucepan over a large bowl of ice, instead of taking the time to let the liquid cool.

 DSC_0874

Doing so will cut your prep time by half! The granita takes at least eight hours to set in the freezer, so I am still twiddling my fingers, waiting for a taste! It is setting beautifully (I couldn’t help but check). I will have to let all of you know once it’s all ready to cool us off after this warm sunny day.

Leave a Reply

