Take Time for Tuna and Jazz (and a Cocktail)

When I got home from work today, I was starving! I hadn’t eaten since breakfast, and it was almost three in the afternoon. I opened the refrigerator to grab an apple, I found a Tupperware bowl with an unfamiliar grey goop inside. I always know what’s in my fridge, so this was a surprise. I pulled it out, opened it up, and found some very fresh tuna salad. My daughter had made it, and left me half. Though she prepared it with yogurt, and I really shouldn’t have dairy, I couldn’t help but have a taste…and another…and another. I ended up all but licking the bowl; it was that good! She never, ever, cooks, so having something prepared for me when I got home from work was a special treat, and I was shocked that she had made something so delicious. The recipe can be found at the end of this post. Please run out right now, grab the ingredients, and whip this up. You will fall instantly in love.

Tonight is the DC Jazz Festival’s opening at The Yard Park, so my husband and I are going out to eat. It was nice to have this lunch at home before going out for food. I’m following Giada’s advice on pages 176 and 177 of Feel Good Food in order to make sure I get the best dining experience for both my mind and body. I plan to either indulge in only appetizers or to order half of my entree to go so that I don’t eat the entire large dish all in one sitting. I will definitely be having a cocktail! The cocktails at Giada’s restaurant in Las Vegas are to die for; while I was there, she and I had a chat about how they don’t really count against you. So, to the liquor I turn for my sweet indulgence tonight with my hub! I love my life!

 

Tuna Salad with a Twist

2 cans (5 oz) tuna in water

1/4 cup plain yogurt

2 tbsp relish

1 tbsp shredded parmesan cheese

2 tsp dill

2 tsp curry

1/2 tsp garlic powder

Strain the water from the tuna until it is dry and chunky. Place it in a bowl, and separate it with a fork. Once it is in small pieces, add the yogurt and relish, stir together until well mixed. Add the cheese and spices and fold into the tuna mix. And you’re done! I like to enjoy my tuna salad with apples or hard boiled eggs, but it’s also very good with crackers, carrots, and celery. We always use relish with no high fructose corn syrup, which isn’t an easy find, but you can always get it at Whole Foods.

Leave a Reply

