Potluck Ideas for Your Summer Party

Though I had to spend this beautiful Saturday morning at work, I took full advantage of the rest of my weekend by visiting the Lake Anna with a group of my husband’s coworkers. The lake party is a potluck, so I chose to make two dishes, one from Giada’s Feel Good Food and one from my own noggin. It was a hot day, so I had to plan accordingly, avoiding any dairy or eggs in the dishes that would spoil quickly. I considered making my mom’s famous slaw, which is oil based, but chose to go my own way instead. I’ll have to make the slaw another day; she is such a fabulous cook!

After pouring through the pages of Giada’s book, I landed on a potato salad pg. 89 which looked like a delicious dish. The marinade used to roast the potatoes was absolutely delicious, and I just loved how the walnuts gave it an extra crunch. Only Giada would have thought of that! It was a simple salad because I already had all the ingredients. I’m sure it’s safe to bet you’ll have most of them as well.

What really shone in the day, though, was my watermelon caprese salad! I’ve included the recipe at the bottom of this post. When we tried it for ourselves at home, we wanted more and more! I knew that I had to save it, though, so we were limited to a taste. It’s an easy, festive, colorful dish which might make the perfect addition to your July 4th barbecue. I definitely suggest trying it out for yourself.

When you make the salad, you will want to cut the rind off of the watermelon without wasting any of the meat. Below, I have a few photos describing how I do this at home! You want to begin by cutting the watermelon on both ends so that it may stand while you carefully cut the rind off in strips, as shown below.

DSC_1088

Once the rind is off, cut it in half length-wise, then again so that you have four quarters.

DSC_1092

You’ll then want to cut the quarters into thin slices, each about a half inch wide. Now, you’ll have perfect, delicious watermelon slices, sans that pesky rind. Don’t forget to check below for the recipe now that your watermelon is all cut up.

DSC_0001

DSC_0004

Watermelon Caprese Salad

1 whole seedless watermelon

1 four ounce box of feta cheese

fresh basil

fresh mint

1/4 cup balsamic vinaigrette

Begin by cutting your watermelon into slices, as shown above. Arrange them on a tray so that they only slightly overlap. Roll all of your herbs together (like you’re rolling a cigar) and chop. Sprinkle the herbs and the feta cheese over the watermelon. Drizzle the balsamic vinaigrette over the entire salad, and you’re done! Easy, right? Check out the beautiful end result!

DSC_0009

 

2 comments

Leave a Reply

